Skip Navigation
Department of Health and Human Services
Slide Tray
0 slides

Return to Slide Library


Add Presentation to Slide Tray Presentation:

Management of Chronic Kidney Disease Stages 1–3

Slide: 5 of 29

Background: Chronic Kidney Disease Stages

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is usually asymptomatic, except in its most advanced stage. Consequently, blood and/or urine tests are required to make a diagnosis. The current definitions of CKD stages, as established by KDIGO (Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes) at their conference in 2004, are:

  • Stage 1: Kidney damage with a glomerular filtration rate (GFR) ≥90 mL/min/1.73 m2
  • Stage 2: Kidney damage with a GFR of 60–89 mL/min/1.73 m2
  • Stage 3a: A GFR of 45–59 mL/min/1.73 m2
  • Stage 3b: A GFR of 30–44 mL/min/1.73 m2
  • Stage 4: A GFR of 15–29 mL/min/1.73 m2
  • Stage 5: A GFR <15 mL/min/1.73 m2 or kidney failure treated by dialysis or transplantation

KDIGO also recommended that albuminuria strata, represented as the urinary albumin/creatinine ratio (UACR), be added within each GFR stage (UACR <30 mg/g, 30–299 mg/g, or ≥300 mg/g) and that the cause of CKD be assigned when possible.